One Little Thing… Clean your pots!

Standard

I attempted to make braised ribs yesterday. I failed. I failed BIG!! My new (from Christmas) Wolfgang Puck skillet was horriblly caked with burnt on rib gunk. It was NASTY! Really nasty.

Even worse is that these pots are hard to clean on a good day.

I was able to use my wooden spoon to work up a lot of the gunk, and when that stopped working I got out the soap and scrubby sponge. Nothing at all came up with that. Nada.

SO… off to Pinterest I went. I found this post/pin: http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/how-to-clean-burnt-frying-pans-140547 and went to work Vinegar, water, baking soda. Got it! The magic that cleans (almost) all.

I put in enough water to cover the bottom of the pan, and added some vinegar. I wasn’t going to wash a measuring cup, but it was maybe 3/4 – 1 cup. I put the stove on high and waited. I went back about 5 minutes later and noticed that even though it wasn’t boiling yet, little bubbles were coming through around the gunk, and not anyplace else. So I grabbed my wooden spoon…

and the gunk came up! Really! No baking soda required! Cool beans, I got to skip some steps. 🙂

20130303-193941.jpg

After loosening up the gunk, I emptied the pan.

20130303-193947.jpg

Then I ran it under some water to wash out the vinegar; and there you go.

20130303-193954.jpg

I honestly think it’s cleaner than when I started the failed dinner. It’s pretty spanking clean.

Now… go look at your pots and pans and if you need to clean them up, do it. If you can’t – purge the ones that you won’t use.

If you have copper bottom pots, get some copper cleaning powder. My Grandmother has the same pots and pans she got when she and my Grandfather got married (a LONG time ago), and they are still bright and shiny because she does that every time she washes them. I was pretty amazed by that.

About brandeekins

I'm a child of God, wife, Mom and step mom of 7 (!), knitter, crocheter, and maker of hairbows and afghans. I am living through heart failure and bi-polar disorder at the ripe old age of 40something. I am a car singer, cupcake baker, Pinterest loving former nurse that takes great pride in her faith, family, and abilities. Disabilities be damned.

Leave a Reply

