One Little Thing… Time Change List

Standard
Spring Forward!

Spring Forward!

Happy Spring Forward! Well, we lose an hour, so I’m not sure how happy it is, but it is a reminder to do a few things that are not Common Cleaning Occurances.

I have Eight things on my Time Change List, and I really try to spread them out over the course of the Time Change week so I am not running around crazy on a Sunday afternoon!

1. Clocks – Go around to all the clocks in the house and change the time. Don’t forget the ones in the car, too! Also check batteries, and dust it while you have it handy.

2. Change Smoke Detector Batteries – whether you need it or not! When you need it is not the best time to find out your Alarm batteries are dead!

3. Change Tooth brushes – Every 6 months, and the time change is a pretty good way to get that done. For the kids, Santa brings them one, so our other day is my oldest’s birthday – June 19. However, I do ours now.

4. Deep Clean the Refrigerator – Take everything out, scrub the shelves, walls, doors, vents, coils, ice maker, dispenser tray (eewe), all of it. When you put stuff back, check the expiration date. You don’t really need Soy Sauce that expired 3 years ago because you might make that recipe everyone hated again. Toss it! Also, it’d be a great time to change your Frige Baking Soda.

5. Deep Clean the Oven – Apparently this includes pulling it out from the wall and cleaning behind and on the sides. I haven’t done this and I am terrified of the prospect!

6. Clean your Dryer Vents – I already did this one a few days ago, and it went splendidly. ( Read about it here)

7. Clean the Outside Windows – Spring and Fall are great times for many of us to clean the outside windows. It’s not too hot, not too cold (well, maybe my WI friends will have to wait!). It’s when I do this that I wish I had a front hose attachment that worked, instead of just a back one!

8. Get rid of your donate box – Or yardsale box. If it’s mild enough outside to clean your windows, it should be great yard sale weather!

The time change is a trigger for me to remember the few things that don’t get done very often. What do you do at the time change?

About brandeekins

I'm a child of God, wife, Mom and step mom of 7 (!), knitter, crocheter, and maker of hairbows and afghans. I am living through heart failure and bi-polar disorder at the ripe old age of 40something. I am a car singer, cupcake baker, Pinterest loving former nurse that takes great pride in her faith, family, and abilities. Disabilities be damned.

Leave a Reply

