House seasoning

Standard
20130319-135139.jpg

My version of House Seasoning – use it in place of plain salt & pepper in a recipe.

One of the staples of my kitchen is a variation of Paula Deen’s (http://www.pauladeen.com/recipes/recipe_view/house_seasoning/) recipe. I use it on and in nearly every recipe. For instance, right now I have chicken, seasoned with this, in a 350 oven for a recipe from Pinterest I’ll be trying later. (This one: http://www.amandathevirtuouswife.com/2012/12/pesto-chicken-alfredo-freezer-meal.html).

I used Paula’s recipe for House Seasoning for a long time, but found that I was constantly adding pepper, and sometimes garlic powder to everything I used it on.

My House Seasoning
1 cup salt
1/3 cup pepper
1/3 cup garlic powder

I keep this mixture in a Tupperware container in my pantry and use a shaker from an empty spice jar. I just fill the shaker whenever it gets low, and remake a batch when needed.

About brandeekins

I'm a child of God, wife, Mom and step mom of 7 (!), knitter, crocheter, and maker of hairbows and afghans. I am living through heart failure and bi-polar disorder at the ripe old age of 40something. I am a car singer, cupcake baker, Pinterest loving former nurse that takes great pride in her faith, family, and abilities. Disabilities be damned.

Leave a Reply

