The Garden Experiment: seedlings

Standard

I noticed some bulging happening in the pumpkin baggie.

20130405-200736.jpg

The pumpkin bag was a little outta control!

It was a little out of control, and led to me going through all of the baggies and separating out some of the good seedlings. But the pumpkins, oh, oh the pumpkins!

20130405-200844.jpg

This is what I found, the pumpkin seedlings, in all their glory.

I took them out of their baggie and decided to try an experiment. I took 3 of the seedlings and put the in a shot glass as a sort of hydroponic thing. The other 2 I left in the Baggie but kept their heads out, but zipped up the rest so it kept some of the “greenhouse” effect. I was really wanting to see if one way would do anything different than the other way.

20130405-201053.jpg

Hydroponic or greenhouse… which is better?

That was yesterday afternoon. I thought it was a good plan, and I was pretty interested to see how it would be different. This afternoon, I noticed something pretty startling.

20130405-201209.jpg

So far the greenhouse has it by at least an inch. Maybe hydroponic will catch up tomorrow?

After 24 hours, my little seedlings still in the Baggie had grown quite a bit! Like… A scary lot! It was over 6 inches. Way bigger than its counterparts in the shot glass. Although, I do like the look of the intermingled roots. It’s really cool to look at.

In other news, nothing has really gotten done on the actual bed, but I thought I would show you what it looks like.

20130405-201438.jpg

After construction, before dirt.

Clever, no? I am really hoping that over the weekend I will be able to get the dirt to go in the garden, but the hubby has been sick, so fingers crossed!

Tomorrow, I plan to tell you about my cook day today. 12 meals in my freezer and I only had to spend about $55 and 4 hours.

Bit of advice though, when planning a cook day that requires 12 zipper bags… Make sure you have more than 4! Ugh.

About brandeekins

I'm a child of God, wife, Mom and step mom of 7 (!), knitter, crocheter, and maker of hairbows and afghans. I am living through heart failure and bi-polar disorder at the ripe old age of 40something. I am a car singer, cupcake baker, Pinterest loving former nurse that takes great pride in her faith, family, and abilities. Disabilities be damned.

Leave a Reply

