Boston Cream Cake

Standard

Today is my in-laws anniversary. I wanted to make supper for them because they really do so much for us. I had quite a hard time deciding what to make, and I really did scour Pinterest for some ideas.
I decided to pull a Pesto Chicken Alfredo Pasta out of the freezer, and make a cake. The cake part was a challenge too. I have eleventy seven pounds of strawberries in my fridge and freezer right now now and thought about making something with them. However, my husband doesn’t like strawberries, so I looked around for plan b. I saw some Boston Cream cupcakes that whet my whistle, so I decided to make that, but a cheater cake version. I had all of the ingredients in my fridge, freezer, and pantry so we were good.

20130417-200517.jpg

Easy and delicious with ingredients you probably have on hand. Bucketfulofcrazy.wordpress.com.

Cake
1 box yellow cake mix
1 Tbsp vanilla
1/4 cup oil (or applesauce)
1 cup water

Filling
1 big (3.4 oz) vanilla pudding
1 cup milk
1 1/2 c thawed Cool Whip
1 Tbsp vanilla

Chocolate Glaze/Topping
1 ounce bakers chocolate (I bet cocoa powder would work too!)
1 ounce (about) semi sweet chocolate (I used mini morsels, about 1/4 cupish)
3 Tbsp milk
3/4 cup powdered sugar
1Tbsp butter

Directions
1. Make cake mostly to package directions, adding the extra vanilla. Pour into round cake pan. (Note #1)
2. Bake at 325 for about 40 minutes, or until its not jiggly anymore. Turn off the oven and let it sit for about 5 minutes. Remove cake to cooling rack (out of the pan) to cool.
3. Cut the cake in half (Note #2), and let sit on cooling rack separated until very cool.
4. Mix together filling ingredients. Let Sit At Least 5 Minutes or it will be pudding soup and not hold up. You can put it in the fridge to firm up a bit too.
5. Microwave chocolates and butter for 30 seconds and give a stir. Do another 20 seconds if needed.
6. Add milk and whisk until smooth. Slowly add powdered sugar, whisking often.
7. Put the bottom of the cake on a plate. Spoon pudding mixture to 1 inch inside the edge. Carefully place the top of the cake on pudding. Smoothly pour chocolate mixture on top, evenly moving for pretty coverage, go slow, and it won’t goo too much.

Both dinner and dessert were big hits. Yay!

Tips
#1. If you cut a strip of parchment about 3 inches wide and lay it inside the pan before baking, and spray it with Pam before adding the cake batter, it comes out really easily when you move it to the cooling rack. You could also make a perfect circle the same size as the cake pan, and it will come out too, but the strip is quicker to make and easier to lift.
#2. A couple feet of dental floss is the bet way to get a nice even cut . Simply wrap the floss around the cake where you want it cut, overlap the ends, and pull. Easy peasy.

About brandeekins

I'm a child of God, wife, Mom and step mom of 7 (!), knitter, crocheter, and maker of hairbows and afghans. I am living through heart failure and bi-polar disorder at the ripe old age of 40something. I am a car singer, cupcake baker, Pinterest loving former nurse that takes great pride in her faith, family, and abilities. Disabilities be damned.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

