MPM, FTB, EGGs

Standard

It’s Monday, kids, time for this week’s menu plan! Normally I do this post while we’re watching Sunday night tv, but I was distracted by yarn. It’s a good thing, since it gave me the opportunity to try out Muffin Tin Omelets and Sunny Side Up Eggs. They’re still in the oven right now, but I’m sure that by the time this gets finished, I’ll have done pics!

Feed The Bay 2013

One of the drop off points for Feed The Bay.

First of all, I wanted to give an update on last weeks Feed The Bay. Together we were able to collect and distribute 160,050 pounds of food to local nearly 20 food banks and soup kitchens. This is enough to stock their shelves for 4-6 months! This is a whole lot of good after a week of a whole lot of bad. Even though the FTB event was before the Boston Marathon tragedy, hearing the total and seeing first hand what people can do to help one another was heart lifting. Lots of folks donate food to food banks through churches, schools, work, and event food drives at Thanksgiving time. FTB stocks them for nearly the rest of the year.

Secondly, the eggs are done and being eaten as I type. The omelet ones came out nice and fluffy, and apparently tasted good. (I don’t eat eggs, I get nauseated, usually, at the smell of cooking eggs!) Here is my recipe, and my notes on how to change it!

3 eggs + 2 Tbsp shredded cheese + 1 slice diced deli turkey = 4 mini omelets.  bucketfulofcrazy.wordpress.com.

3 eggs + 2 Tbsp shredded cheese + 1 slice diced deli turkey = 4 mini omelets.
bucketfulofcrazy.wordpress.com.

Omelet eggs (makes 4)

3 eggs

1 slice deli turkey diced/cut/sliced

2 T shredded cheese

Whisk up the eggs with a fork. add in turkey and cheese. Spoon out into 4 muffin tins.

Bake 350 for 20 minutes.

NOTES: my oldest said there was too much cheese in the omelets (I didn’t know that was possible!), but the little one loved them!

By using a big spoon, it was so much easier to get the egg mixture into the muffin cups. Pouring would have been very messy! bucketfulofcrazy.wordpress.com.

By using a big spoon, it was so much easier to get the egg mixture into the muffin cups. Pouring would have been very messy!
bucketfulofcrazy.wordpress.com.

The omelets were the perfect size. If I had done 4 eggs instead of 3, they would've poofed up above the tin and been very messy! bucketfulofcrazy.wordpress.com.

The omelets were the perfect size. If I had done 4 eggs instead of 3, they would’ve poofed up above the tin and been very messy!
bucketfulofcrazy.wordpress.com.

Sunny Side Up Eggs

Spray muffin tin with Pam.

Crack 1 egg into 1 muffin cup.

Bake 350 for 20 minutes.

NOTES: They were a little hard, with the yolk pretty but cooked through. My oldest liked them, but said that he prefers the yolks a little runny. Next time I would bake for less time, maybe 15 minutes, and see if they still jiggled a bit.

Muffin tin omelets and sunny side up.  bucketfulofcrazy.wordpress.com

Muffin tin omelets and sunny side up.
bucketfulofcrazy.wordpress.com

And Finally, my menu plan for this week!

Monday: Cheesy Baked Chicken – Kraft Fresh Take (I’ve had this on the plan for 3 weeks and haven’t been able to make it yet!! Today is the day!)

Tuesday: Crock Pot Beef Stew

Wednesday: Leftovers

Thursday: Grilled Cheese & Tomato Soup (Jake’s night to cook)

Friday: Rosemary Chicken & Potatoes

Saturday: Sloppy Joe Boats. I got the idea from a pin of this post, and I am going to use that as my idea to do my own thing.

Sunday: Pork Roast, Mashed Potatoes.

Planning my meals each week helps so much in the shopping, dining out, and “what’s for dinner Mama?” that I don’t know if I’ll ever not have one again!! You can play along too by creating your own Menu Plan and sharing it at OrgJunkie.com. See what others are up to this week: Menu Plan Monday 4/22. In the next couple days I will share my meal planning strategy. It’s easy, and a great way to weed out the meals that everyone doesn’t like.

Happy Earth Day.

About brandeekins

I'm a child of God, wife, Mom and step mom of 7 (!), knitter, crocheter, and maker of hairbows and afghans. I am living through heart failure and bi-polar disorder at the ripe old age of 40something. I am a car singer, cupcake baker, Pinterest loving former nurse that takes great pride in her faith, family, and abilities. Disabilities be damned.

Leave a Reply

