One Little Thing… Springtime cupcakes

Standard

Tomorrow is pot luck day for my Nursing Class. I signed up to bring cupcakes because I always bring cupcakes. I love that I am finally comfortable enough with my “skillz” to fiddle with recipes and box mixes and actually have them turn out good.
I have a ton of strawberries in my freezer. I thought it’d be great to put them into cupcakes. I thought about angel food strawberry short-cup-cakes, or maybe chocolate strawberry, but I settled on strawberry lemon cupcakes. Mostly because I really didn’t want to make them from scratch and although I did have vanilla and yellow cake mixes, I also had lemon. Lemons go well with strawberries – like with strawberry lemonade. Yum.
Here is my recipe for delicious and easy 4 ingredient cupcakes.

20130503-172905.jpg

These are my strawberry lemon cupcakes just after the frosting went on. They were so pretty! bucketfulofcrazy.wordpress.com

Strawberry Lemon Cupcakes
1 box lemon cake mix
3 eggs
1 1/2 cups mushed thawed from frozen strawberries
1 teaspoon lemon flavoring (1 cap)

20130503-173009.jpg

These beauties were cuter up close.
bucketfulofcrazy.wordpress.com

Mush up the strawberries well, I used a potato masher in a big 4 cup measuring cup and it worked great. (1 1/2 cups was the total of water and oil required by the mix. If your mix is different, use that amount). Pour the cake mix in a big bowl, pour in the strawberries, add eggs and lemon flavoring. Mix well.
Scoop into cupcake lined tins. Bake 15 minutes, or the low amount listed on your box.
Let cool.

I would love to share the frosting recipe, but it melted into a gooey mess. (It started with store frosting… therein lies the problem!) Perhaps if you frosted it with vanilla frosting and either filled with mushed berries, or drizzled with mushed berry goo it would do well?

20130503-172655.jpg

After 2 hours of hanging out in the carry container (not outside… in the classroom!), they looked like this. I was heartbroken, and NO ONE wanted to touch them. I think 3 or 4 people tried one. Besides me, of course.
bucketfulofcrazy.wordpress.com

At least it tasted good!

20130503-172722.jpg

They were so good, even if I did have to eat them with a fork! bucketfulofcrazy.wordpress.com

About brandeekins

I'm a child of God, wife, Mom and step mom of 7 (!), knitter, crocheter, and maker of hairbows and afghans. I am living through heart failure and bi-polar disorder at the ripe old age of 40something. I am a car singer, cupcake baker, Pinterest loving former nurse that takes great pride in her faith, family, and abilities. Disabilities be damned.

Leave a Reply

