A lot can change in 2 years

Standard

It has been nearly 2 years since my last post, and so much has changed! I finally feel like I’m at a point in my life that I can start writing again. It is good for my soul! 

So… What’s happened? 

I went through a divorce

I finished nursing school

I worked as a nurse for 2 months

I have some heart problems that make me unable to work as a nurse

I reunited with an old friend, Dave, from seventh grade

I fell in love, moved in, and became engaged to that friend

I’ve had to figure out being a stepmom to his 5 kids (plus my own part time)

Started raising chickens and rabbits

Sprained my ankle 4 days ago (putting up chickens!)
A lot, huh? Yup! So where does that put me now? Smack in the middle of chaos and crazy! I need to recenter myself and reorganize my life! So, I’ve dusted off my binder and ordered a refill, done a little bit every day to get my life in order. Anxiety, depression, and heart crap have kept me unable to accomplish the daily living things that need to be done, plus I inherited a messy group when I moved in here. The kids didn’t really have any corrective measures for behavior because of the divorce their parents were going through, so now Dave and I are trying to catch up on that crucial part of parenting. 

2 of the kids are home (3 & 4), and neither Dave nor I work due to disability. We live on a shoestring, and have all of the kids living with us 70% of the time. We also have my 2 boys every other weekend… 9 people make a full house! 

My dirty secret- probably 50% of my stuff is still in boxes, there is an awful roach problem that we can’t get under control, and I can’t get through the day without at least a two hour nap. We eat out too much, have too much stuff, and too long of a to-do list. We have stuff to sell but have lacked the willpower to actually get them sold. Piles of clothes, books, craft items, excess furniture, and decor all need to be sold! 

My wild, brilliant ideas for making money gets caught up in my emotional chaos and I end up with half done (or supplies untouvched) for all sorts of things! In theory, I want to repurpose curb alert furniture from Craig’s list. I’ve painted a small table with intention to finish it as a tutu table, I’ve turned dressers into chicken perches, I’ve sold a computer desk. I’m grateful Dave puts up with my hairbrained ideas! 

The biggest challenges I’m facing: clean the house, unpack and organize all of the things, get rid of the roaches!, keep up with the mountains of laundry, sell the things, keep calm, stop freaking out.

That’s it, in a nutshell. Do what needs to be done and don’t freak out. don’t Panic!  

My To-do before bed: clean the dishes, sweep the kitchen, fold and switch a load of laundry. Let’s do this.

About brandeekins

I'm a child of God, wife, Mom and step mom of 7 (!), knitter, crocheter, and maker of hairbows and afghans. I am living through heart failure and bi-polar disorder at the ripe old age of 40something. I am a car singer, cupcake baker, Pinterest loving former nurse that takes great pride in her faith, family, and abilities. Disabilities be damned.

Leave a Reply

