Smothered crock pot pork chops

Standard

Last night I made a pretty amazing supper. Cheap too, because we scored an awesome deal on pork chops!

I was planning on making smothered pork chops, then using the leftovers for pork pot pie tonight. I went straight for Pinterest, and found a few that I loved and wanted to make, but was missing a few ingredients. Well… I wasn’t going to the store, so I had to fake it. And it worked… Deliciously! 

Dave’s brother in law is a butcher, and when he had to go to his Winn Dixie to speak to him for a minute, he pointed Dave to the 2 best deals in the clearance case. 10 pounds of chicken quarters for $3 and 5 huge pork chops (about 3 pounds, with the little porterhouse-type bone) for $4. !. Here’s what I did.

1 medium onion, 5 big pork chops, 1 can cream of mushroom, 1 can cream of celery, 1 packet ranch seasoning, 1 cup chicken broth, 1 Tbsp oregano, 1 Tbsp Italian seasoning, cracked black pepper.

Cut up an onion and layered it in the bottom of my crockpot.

Place the pork as evenly as I could, but there was a lot of stacking.

Mix cans, broth, ranch mix, and spices in a bowl; pour on top.

Crack pepper on top of that

Cook on low for 7ish hours

It was fall off the bone tender, the kids liked it, and it made plenty of gravy for the potatoes. I was able to feed all 7 of us plus have a little more than a whole chop for my pot pie tonight. I forgot to take a pic, I guess I haven’t been blogging for way too long! 

Anyway, enjoy. Also, update on last night- dishes got done, floor got swept, and the stove got a really good cleaning. Laundry got moved to today. 

About brandeekins

I'm a child of God, wife, Mom and step mom of 7 (!), knitter, crocheter, and maker of hairbows and afghans. I am living through heart failure and bi-polar disorder at the ripe old age of 40something. I am a car singer, cupcake baker, Pinterest loving former nurse that takes great pride in her faith, family, and abilities. Disabilities be damned.

Leave a Reply

