Shopping Spree

Standard

I am in the middle of planning my upcoming 2 weeks of meals. I believe the best way to save money on your family’s food is to plan after you shop the sale/coupon deals.

Today I went to Publix and spent about $108 (I saved $122!). None of it was meat because I get amazing deals at my meat market, and also at Target… who knew? So pretty much, my money today was spent on dairy, a few frozen things, canned veg, cereal, pasta, stuff like that. I also had 2 boxes of gallon Ziploc and a box of Reynolds crock pot liners(wish there were more than 4 in those boxes!) I’d have saved $15 more if my store took a specific competitor coupon… but they are too far to count. 😦

[Target Tangent: If you check their fresh meat, you will find coupons on the stuff that needs to be frozen in the next day or so. You can find AMAZING deals on great meat this way. I bought $6.99 93% ground beef for $1.99 with the $5 coupon on the packages. Also, ground pork for $1.99 and breakfast sausage links for $1.15!]

Anywho, now that I have purchased all of the great deals that I could, I will marry the ingredients that I got with the meat I had previously purchased, and viola… meal plan! These 2 weeks the kids are home on winter break, so I have to add breakfast and lunch for them, as well as factor in Christmas, and an 8th birthday party on Christmas as well.

So, I’ve sat down with my meal planner print outs and I’ll get to work! I have decided to start saving my meal planning sheets, as well as my cook day sheets, so that I can reuse them to give myself less stress on days that I NEED to meal plan for the week, but just don’t WANT to!

Did you get any amazing deals this week? What’s going on your plates?

About brandeekins

I'm a child of God, wife, Mom and step mom of 7 (!), knitter, crocheter, and maker of hairbows and afghans. I am living through heart failure and bi-polar disorder at the ripe old age of 40something. I am a car singer, cupcake baker, Pinterest loving former nurse that takes great pride in her faith, family, and abilities. Disabilities be damned.

Leave a Reply

