The Best (Crock-Pot) Spaghetti Sauce Ever

Standard

I have used this spaghetti sauce recipe for many years. It’s easy and everyone loves it. I thought that I had shared it over the years I’ve been blogging, but apparently not!

I came about this recipe sort of because of my Mom. She used to have me stay home to “watch” the sauce on the stove while she ran errands, and it would ALWAYS burn. I don’t have the greatest memory in the world… so it was TOTALLY her fault! Because of this, um, personality trait (?), I came up with a non-burnable Crock-Pot version. This makes enough for a big lasagna and plenty of leftover for a spaghetti night.

Crock-Pot Spaghetti Sauce

2 lbs ground meat (I used pork and beef last night, but use whatever mix you like)

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 onion, diced

2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 28oz can Crushed Tomatoes

2 14oz cans Italian Stewed Tomatoes, drain liquid into cooker, then rough chop the tomatoes. I’ve totally used kitchen shears inside the can to do this!

1 small can tomato sauce

1 small can tomato paste

2 Tbsp parsley

1 Tbsp sugar

2 tsp salt

2 tsp basil

2 tsp oregano

1 tsp rosemary

1/2 tsp thyme

2 bay leaves

8 oz fresh mushrooms (or 2 cans sliced)

Add olive oil in skillet and saute garlic and onion for about 3 minutes on medium heat. They will get soft (if it’s burning, it’s too hot!). Add the meat, and brown it until done. Drain.

While the meat is browning, I start opening cans. Add the contents of the cans, plus half of the can of water. Especially for the tomato paste, I use hot so I can get as much from the sides of the can as I am able to.

Cook on low for 6 hours, or high for 3. I add some fresh mushrooms about halfway through the cooking process, but you can also add canned at the beginning.

You could do freezer cooking for this, but because of the grease of the meat, I’d suggest cooking and draining the meat before freezing. The rest can be frozen as is, but since it’s just opening cans, I never really do this. I have frozen the finished sauce before, and it thaws nicely!

It’s a great consistency, not too watery. I hope you love it as much as I do!

 

About brandeekins

I'm a child of God, wife, Mom and step mom of 7 (!), knitter, crocheter, and maker of hairbows and afghans. I am living through heart failure and bi-polar disorder at the ripe old age of 40something. I am a car singer, cupcake baker, Pinterest loving former nurse that takes great pride in her faith, family, and abilities. Disabilities be damned.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Sunday 7: Favorite Foods - Bucketful of Joy

Leave a Reply

