Twinkie Cupcakes.

Standard

20130527-142900.jpg
This recipe for Twinkie cupcakes was modified from This Recipe.

The changes I made were twofold. I didn’t want to use the frosting, only modify the filling to work for both. Also, I remember a hint of lemon flavor in the originals, so I added where I thought proper. I think I’ve nailed it. Except, that 10 minutes after filling the cupcakes they are less pretty. Refrigeration would fix this, as would a proper frosting. Oh we’ll.

Cupcakes
1 box butter yellow cake mix, and the ingredients to make it
1 small box French vanilla fat free pudding
1 tsp lemon flavoring

Filling
1 (7 oz) jar marshmallow fluff
1/2 c room temp butter
1/2 tsp vanilla
2 cups powdered sugar
1/4 tsp salt dissolved into 2 Tbsp hot water (cooled)

Preheat oven to 350. Mix up the cake batter as called for on the box. Mix in pudding mix and lemon flavoring. Scoop into cupcake liners. Mine made 22 cupcakes.
Bake 15 – 18 mins until done. Let cool. With a slanted knife, cut a cone out of the middle.

20130527-143923.jpg
In mixing bowl, beat together fluff, butter, & vanilla until fluffy. Slowly add in sugar, alternating with water. I used about 1 Tbsp of the water.
Scoop filling into zip top bag (stand it up in a cup with the edges draped over. You’ll thank me later.), and put in the fridge for at least an hour. Snip the tip and pipe a swirl into each middle.
Enjoy!

20130527-144421.jpg

About brandeekins

I'm a child of God, wife, Mom and step mom of 7 (!), knitter, crocheter, and maker of hairbows and afghans. I am living through heart failure and bi-polar disorder at the ripe old age of 40something. I am a car singer, cupcake baker, Pinterest loving former nurse that takes great pride in her faith, family, and abilities. Disabilities be damned.

Leave a comment